A Piece on Pre-departure

February 3rd, 2014

My relocation of how I managed to find my way to the country of spicy food

Why not wake up one morning and decide to go to India? To me, It’s all about making the most of life, even if that means I sound a little crazy at times. It always helps to have good friends in different places too.

I have known my friend Ramesh Eerpina since 2011, when we first started working at the Langille Athletic Center together, at the formerly known Nova Scotia Agriculture College. “Some day you’re taking me to India” I told him from day one. (I have big dreams)

Earlier in November, I was accepted to study at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences in Norway for the winter semester. Since I was already planning to fly quite a bit (~3500 miles) I asked Ramesh if I could accompany him to his home country while he would visit his family for the month of January.

A word on spontaneous trips; they make you feel adventurous and risky. I always enjoy some adrenaline in my life, so I sent my little passport away to the Indian embassy in Toronto one month before departure (If you’re not familiar with the regulations, it usually takes some time to process, and that’s being inconsiderate of holiday hours). But not to worry, I received my passport in the mail 2 days before I left the country.

If it’s possible, I say go for it!

Shelby Lynne Jamieson

1526323_10152552322029638_1162421329_n

Children riding elephant in India 2014

Leave a Reply

